Snow Party

I

How to Make Florida Snow

Pages of broken books/ flake away from their spine

My tiny scissors snip shapes.

II

How to make Florida Snow

Gathered shell shards/ dance with drifted sticks

Sugar sand Snow Man smiles.

III

How to make Florida Snow

Find Bush/ shake its booty

Florida Snow brings me to letters of my  2024 word

         b e v e r o s

I. Observe, I did, via video, how someone more crafty than I created tiny paper snowflakes. My 100 or so 2-inch flakes joined 700 others pasted on the cover of cheery poem booklets for the bedbound over in Jacksonville during the recent Holidays.

II. Observe I did, that some odd, flat, form lay up on the backshore brush berm, while we strolled 30 feet away in Fort Clinch State Park, at water’s edge. I walked upland on sand to find a delight & added more sticks.

III. Observe, I did, a winter-flower bush, guessing it could morph into a newly named Snow Tree, at St. Marks National Wildlife Refuge.

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Off  now to observe the wonderfulness of your posts here, around this edition of #PoetryFriday. I hope your 2024 contains a great open observation door.

Stay for the groovy links. But first do you know what a busy editor eats as a snack? [editable fruit]

Catch #PoetryFriday’s current host-post at Life on the Deckle Edge, created by multi-media artist & fabulous person, fables chronicler, Robyn Hood Black.

GROOVY LINKS January
5 Marcie at Marcie Flinchum Atkins
12 Tracey at Tangles and Tails 
19 Robyn at Life on the Deckle Edge
26 Susan at Chicken Spaghetti

February
2 Mary Lee at A(nother) Year of Reading
9 Carol at Beyond LiteracyLink
16 Margaret at Reflections on the Teche
23 Tabatha at The Opposite of Indifference

No Water River shares what #PoeetryFriday is ‘about!

Kenyon Review wants your h. s. students [ & next yr. try for online…]

THIS Monday night wants your attention https://www.ala.unikron.com

LAST Monday, I appreciated 95th birthday of MLK, Jr. images, & news of King’s family visiting Florida, & their sharing of a granddaughter’s new January 2024 Scholastic children’s book, carrying the light of both of her grandparents:

WE DREAM A WORLD by Yolanda Renee King

https://ca.sports.yahoo.com/news/nfl-celebrates-martin-luther-kings-95th-birthday-with-king-family-at-bucs-eagles-game-022354169.html

Winter weather emergencies tipsheet

By:

Posted in:


38 responses to “Snow Party”

  1. Nice! One year my kids made a snowman out of sea urchins’ shells. You do what you can when you live in a warm place. 🙂 Ruth, thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jan, what fun Florida snow you have. I love the three examples. Having lived in both snow country and sand country, I can appreciate making snow in warm desert winters. I like the way you made a puzzle out of sharing your word of the year. I was observant and realized your word is verbose. (jk)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jan, I love this! It reminded me of a story that a former colleague told me about taking her son to Disneyworld for a Christmas parade where Disney made it fake snow. Years later, he asked her if she remembered when it snowed in Florida (believing that it was real). I love the real snow that you found and created in Florida!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. As always, Jan you provide me with a reason to smile while viewing your whimsical Snow Art & Poetry. I am so delighted that you are back with us and hope you feel a bit of winter fun / Floridian style!

    Like

  5. I know that mostly those in Florida are glad to be rid of the work of snow, but the change of season and the beauty of Winter can be missed. So you brilliantly bring a little Winter to Florida. I’m sure your snowflakes brighten many lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the creativity here, and it reminds me that I have pages in a Danish book that could be made into snowflakes. I’m sure they have snow in Denmark! Thanks for all this fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Your post made me smile all the way through, Jan, but LOL at “editable fruit”. I never thought I’d write Happy Snow Day to you way down in Florida! You’ve taken full advantage of the weird weather week! (Keep cozy, too!)

    Like

  8. I love the surprising variety of your Florida Snow Observations. We have plenty of the real stuff here in Wisconsin, and it’s still beautiful–but cold!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I am enjoying your snow party! Outside my window, snow is falling quickly and there is not school for me or my students today. Wheeee! It’s all good until it’s time to shovel the driveway and the walk. It’s my daughter’s birthdays—one today, one tomorrow. So, I’ll be making some cookie cakes in my kitchen today. They go nice with hot cocoa.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I OBSERVE that your creativity is in full swing! Your three little flakes of Florida snow flutter perfectly onto the page. The more I think about it, snow in Florida was made for poets — you can’t rely on the actual stuff, so you have to create the illusion with simile and metaphor!

    Liked by 1 person

your thoughts? please leave a comment, to pop up after moderator o.k. thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.