Giggle me, world

Giggle me, world

This October, Spiritual Thursday is arms open wide to share
about humor, meaning –
not mean, but sweet silly stuff that brings on the happy.
I’d smile if you comment.
And later when  ST jolly jottings are up, please leave
a link.

Have you brought out a giggle from a baby or toddler?
For our gal, holding her just a wee bit over my head,
her belly down, face looking at mine,
for a brief “airplane” flight, produced a belly laugh.

And she giggled, too.

Lots of ways of plays brought out the laughs.

Giggle my world

Funny face
puppet paw pat
hide-and-seek-cat
in October, peek-a-book bat.

c.2018JGA

Best medicine for adults, too

I appreciated the experience of feeling that
laughter is the best medicine when
pain & discomfort involving kidney surgery would ease,
anxiety went poof! earlier this season, enjoying a simple joke.

One time, especially.
I felt bothered by the bag of blood
towering over my head. That unease ended
when the the nurse that afternoon threw a
towel over the blood transfusion bag
and then he lightly jiggled the pole, made a funny sound &
turned it into a flowing ghost. It was hilarious. I needed the
laugh/sneeze/cough heart-shaped pillow the hospital
provided, to swaddle my healing belly wounds, it was soooo funny.

c.2018allrightsreserved

I’m gratefully healed across the middle now
& can let the chortles
rip without hurting scar seams.

Top humor starters follow.
Are they similar to yours?

Cartoon collections
Humorist Roz Chast’s New Yorker cartoons & many cartoon books,
along with those of Gary Larson & others.

A few from our
Roz Chast shrine. Collect them all!

Nonsense verse

Spoken out loud. Better yet I read these
out loud from Illustrated versions
of the most nonsensical jollity. The best best best
for my LOL is Edward Lear’s “The Owl and the Pussycat,”
which I recently learned was voted the favorite children’s poem
in England.
When my poetry-loving mother
offered her liltingly dramatic rendition of the moon-lit journey
of the loveable avian/feline pair, including her finger-ring in
her own nose, in the wood, I fell over in laughter.

Today, I am agog over my discovery,
through the sweet blog Silvershoes and Rabbitholes,
of a Hilary Knight version of O & P! You know it? I didn’t.
Mr. Knight is beloved for ELOISE and also, by Lee Bennett Hopkins fans,
for his illustrations of the LBH poem collections, HAPPY BIRTHDAY and
also, SIDE BY SIDE, which I have gifted to young teachers.
His version features a set-up to the poem that melts my heart
with touches of whimsy that are equal to Lear’s nonsense genius.

Silly sings

ELLA JENKINS, a strummer, a singer is f-u-n-n-y.
Are there silly songs from your homestate or
where you live now? We enjoy the friendly quirks
of Florida where we have created our own family,
where my first family moved when I was in middle school,
so Ella Jenkins cracks me up with her original tune,

“I Know a City Called Okeechobee”

Puppets

Lambchop
I can’t be the only crazy person who loves to
prance & sing “This is the Song that Never Ends,”
made famous by Shari Lewis and her puppet pal, Lambchop.
I hummed this before and after surgery.
So cool that her daughter Mallory Lewis,
carries on the silly tradition.
http://blog.cmnonline.org/2017/03/09/the-song-that-doesnt-end-by-shari-lewis/

Costumes
Odd eyewear. Funny hats

c.2016allrightsreserved

In summary

Dour tastes sour.
Joy is a toy.

And when I create situations of joy
that produce laughter or full on smiles,
my psyche can more easily steamroll irritations,
so my human-imperfect nature
is more likely to react amiably, kindly,
when a roadblock, setback, disappointment
or that occasional huge challenge,
boulders onto the path.
I hope these thoughts make your spirit smile.

Me & a Monster
c.2017JanGodownAnnino
allrightsreserved

By:


9 responses to “Giggle me, world”

  1. Thanks, Jan, for hosting and for suggesting the topic of humour! It seems your recent surgical adventures were lightened a great deal through it. I’m glad you’re feeling better. Keep taking those humour pills. Thanks too for catalogue of humour goodies to check out.

    My blog post today is about a recent trip we took and how Ms. Google added her bit of levity to it. It’s here: https://vnesdolypoems.wordpress.com/2018/10/04/the-humour-of-ms-google/

    Take care of yourself now!

    Like

  2. Jan: Thank you so much for your wonderful list of giggle-inducing comics, etc. As a kid, I was often known as a giggle-box. You know the type, too social by half. I still love to giggle, but now I can consider the benefits. For me, there are many benefits to a good laugh, not the least of which is that it is a wonderful tension reducer. Even when life gives us lemons, a laugh is still appreciated. This week, to give an example, our family is facing a crisis. My nephew, a man of 49, is facing cancer surgery that will remove his left leg and 1/2 of his pelvis. We are all reeling, trying to wrap our minds and hearts around this news. And my brother, who will likely be caring for my nephew for some time after surgery, is very private. It’s very hard for him to reach out. I’ve emailed him about the situation, but got no reply. He is closer to others in the family, so news comes through them.

    But… I happened to come across a list of “21 fantastic gifts you never knew existed” which included a product that will allow a person to shave their own back. Yes… their back! You see, my brothers are hairy. Some of them look like bears when they have their shirts off. So… I sent the list (complete with pictures) to all of them… I have been blessed with 6 brothers… and it did get a reaction! And my brother whose son is facing surgery responded. It’s a blessing to laugh together!

    We’ve all heard that laughter is a good medicine. Laughter uses muscles! It’s a great way to get exercise! I know that I’ve laughed until my muscles hurt, just like a good workout. Laughter can clear the air. It cleanses us of fears and tensions. Laughter is a gift from God. Every person has the ability to laugh, no strings involved. Laughter is such an important commodity that we pay people to help us laugh. Laughter is a blessing that is wonderful to share. It helps us build strong relationships. Don’t you love to be with people who make you laugh?

    Laughter is an indispensable tool for our spiritual journeys. I thank God today that I am able to laugh, and for the times I’ve been able to share a good laugh with others. And I’m not above a bad pun.. so…
    What the definition of irony? The opposite of wrinkly!

    Your wrinkly friend, Karen

    Liked by 1 person

    • Karen, I enjoyed your post in the comment section. I am sorry that your family is facing a medical crisis. I never heard of surgery that takes half of a pelvis so I want to lift up your family to be strong to support your nephew. Life is fragile and uncertain and laughter softens the blows.

      Like

your thoughts? please leave a comment, to pop up after moderator o.k. thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.