More poetry, promptly!

DAY 28 of Laura Shovan’s found prompt project

Today is the most special Sunday in February 2016
because it is the last Sunday of Feb. 2016
we will ever see rise
& set. Ever.
We will see other last February Sundays, but
never the exquisite 2016 version that today is.

If you are seeking a way to make it live on,
add a poem to this day’s incredible photograph
from Mary Lee Hahn. Appreciations to Mary Lee!

photograph from Poetry Friday's Mary Lee Hahn, Day 28, Laura Shovan's 2016 Found Object Poetry
photograph from Poetry Friday’s Mary Lee Hahn, Day 28, Laura Shovan’s 2016 Found Object Poetry

Add your responses in the comment section,
or provide links there to your poem making at
your site.

Here is one to start

Showtime

Dear garden pals,

And so I see you
puff your stuff –
golden ears
bleeding hearts
floret duets
cotton bolls
paper coins
pods of pea
and the assorted
riff raff
fly by
volunteer
plants

Now is my year to bolt
molt
burst my veil
do not be alarmed
by this cascade bloom
my offering is
from
the part of me
that doesn’t
clear the room

love,
Mum Allium
c. 2016 Jan Godown Annino

Also please visit the site curated by Carol Varsalona her
for “Spring is in the Air,” her lovely response.

And join the joy tucked within this contribution from
poet Charles Waters

Day 28

GRADUATION

Seedlings huddle

for one final group hug

before sprouting away

to feed the world.
c. Charles Waters

I appreciate the brevity with a punch, of these from Carol & Charles.

And now Margaret Simon sets the stage –

Blossom shrouded in
lace waiting for curtain call
to dance moonlit waltz.
c. Margaret Simon

And Diane Mayr backs up for the wide perspective –

Day 28 was almost a nonstarter. I managed a tanka, but without the alluring allium flower!

new neighbors
riding their new mower
we roll our eyes
at the dandelions and
spring onions gone to waste
c. Diane Mayr

Appreciations to creative Margaret, Diane, & to all you inventive poem makers.
Some day I will catch up to you.

Appreciations to Laura Shovan, who is one fantabulous poem maker,
debut MG author & poetry blogging pal.

By:


19 responses to “More poetry, promptly!”

  1. Sorry, I sent this to Laura yesterday morning –

    Day 28

    A Part of Me

    The rest of the world faded away
    The important thing was
    They were all safe
    My job was done
    Now they would burst free
    And become what they were meant to be

    While I would be
    As withered as they were full
    As brown as they were green
    As dry as they were succulent
    As much a part of them as they were a part of me.

    ©2016, Donna JT Smith, all rights reserved

    Liked by 1 person

    • Appreciations for “A Part of Me.”
      It feels like a warm enbrace about the cycle of life.

      I expect to go back day by day, & visit #FoundObjectPoems Day images
      & the creativity they prompted.
      We all roll along on differently personal schedules.
      (Especially on a weekend…)

      more thanks, Donna.

      Like

    • Quite special, this “Allium.”

      (Will anyone assist me with Umbei.
      New to me & my Merriam-Webster online isn’t giving it up.)

      Also, I sew with this mighty fine contribution, I need to stay after school for some spelling lessons 🙂

      more thanks!

      Like

      • umbel –with an l, not an i 🙂 “An umbel is an inflorescence which consists of a number of short flower stalks (called pedicels) which spread from a common point, somewhat like umbrella ribs. The word was coined in botany in the 1590s, from Latin umbella “parasol, sunshade.”

        Liked by 1 person

      • Appreciations. The definition is poetic, itself. Plus a new word (pedicel) within that. And I have to say
        inforescence is a lovely word, too. Many thanks.

        Plus, gotta wear me readers more often.

        Like

  2. Jan, thank you for hosting today. I really enjoyed your poem. The ending was clever and the message full of positivity. I tweeted you the digital composition I created for Day 28’s Found Object Poem Project just now. I have had computer glitches for two days so I have been preoccupied. I thank you for mentioning me after your delightful poem. One more day. Congratulations to all of the writers who build a collection of poems to enjoy throughout the year. Also a big thanks to Laura for her creative spirit and constant presence in our writerly lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Day 28

    Garlic

    You don’t know my flower,
    a bundle of blooms rising above the July garden.

    You know my bulbs,
    braided in papery chains.

    You know my cloves,
    crushed under the flat silver knife blade.

    You know my juice,
    sticky on your fingers.

    You know my scent,
    rich, insistent, mouth-watering.

    You know me sliced and minced,
    roasted and diced.

    You can’t live without me,
    and you know it.

    ©Mary Lee Hahn, 2016

    http://www.maryleehahn.com/2016/02/found-object-poem-project_28.html

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh Mary Lee, how did you reach into my frontal lobe (or another section of neurons?)
      & mind read.
      I can’t live without garlic.
      And you have provided Laura Shovan’s Day 28 with an uncommon image of the
      everyday kitchen wonder crucial to so many cooks.
      Brava! with a side of cloves in a mushroom saute sauce, to you.

      Like

  4. Love the voice in your poem, rather triumphant, isn’t she? I’m sometimes surprised at the words that come from gazing at all these prompts, and this is one of them. Perhaps it’s because of my pride in a recent graduate, but who really knows? Thanks for hosting again, Jan. Hope you’re having a marvelous “final” Sunday in February 2016!

    Day 28

    Through a Different Lens

    The graduate stands expectant,
    smiling,
    mortarboard tilting, ready to fly.
    She carries seeds of past experiences
    soon to burst and bloom upon her new world.
    Linda Baie ©All Rights Reserved

    Liked by 2 people

your thoughts? please leave a comment, to pop up after moderator o.k. thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.