It’s now Hanukkah 2015 + #Readukkah

After posting one of the incredible poems of the Karen Hesse/

Brian Pinkney Hanukkah book, THE STONE LAMP last Friday,

I was away for the weekend with my hubby on a delayed & delicious

anniversary trip to the coast. It was accented with lighthouse

lights, not Hanukkah lights & by long walks on near-wild beaches.

So – I’m late in posting the second part of that column & I’m

eager to make the rounds of Poetry Friday columns from the first Friday

of this festive month. I’m alsp part of Heidi Estrin’s round

up of Hanukkah columns, so for Heidi I’ll add – #Readukkuh.

Along city streets or in country village homes menorahs in

windows through Dec. 13 are a special sight.

So I have a video treat for this season. I’m of Christian

faith, with an interest in some other faith’s ways of worship. I

feel that we all deserve the advantage of knowing about a variety of

holiday faith traditions. Especially so for children, who are likely

to wonder about new ways when overheard at school or when visiting new

friends. I’m also researching my Holocaust-topic illustrated

manuscript, finding myself immersed in all manner of good books on

Jewish themes.

HANUKKAH in ALASKA, read for BookPALS
HANUKKAH in ALASKA, read for BookPALS

I’m tickled to share a lively animated children’s menorah story,

read engagingly from the book, which was written Barbara Brown.

The reading is by a young talent you may recognize.

It’s fun to see the clever animation of the mighty fine book

illustrations Stacey Schuett created for HANUKKAH IN ALASKA.

The animator is Jacqueline Godsey. It puts a whole new spin

on Hanukkah!

The video comes to us via a volunteer literacy organization I love

deeply – BookPALS. (I’m lucky to have many years experience reading in

schools for BookPALS.)

Here are more Hanukkah picture book titles I’m happy to share:

BEAUTIFUL YETTA’S HANUKKAH KITTEN
by the husband and wife children’s literature team of Daniel
Pinkwater (author) & Jill Pinkwater (artist.)

HOW DO DINOSAURS SAY HAPPY CHANUKAH?
by the team who bring us all these fun dinosaur
visits – Jane Yolen (author) & Mark Teague (artist)

HANUKKAH BEAR
by Eric Kimmel & Mike Wohnoutka

Thank you Diane Mayr for the Hanukkah Bear recommendation and I like it that it was already on my list. Diane also thoughtfully suggests LATKES and APPLESAUCE by Frank Manushkin.

I appreciate Buffy Silverman’s idea to look for HANUKKAH GHOST & HERSCHEL and the HANUKKAH GOBLINS, which are also by Eric Kimmel.

And I’m grateful to Liz Steinglass for mentioning her family’s
fun in reading THE MIRACLE OF POTATO LATKES by Malika Penn.

Now, here is a light of the coast kind, with my wishes for bright & peaceful December lights, to all. It is from our area’s historic
Crooked River Lighthouse, a treat to visit in Florida’s Panhandle.

c. 2013 Bob May, for Crooked River Lighhouse Association Lanternfest, all rights reserved.
c. 2013 Bob May, for Crooked River Lighhouse Association Lanternfest/McKenzie News Service, all rights reserved.

By:

Posted in:


11 responses to “It’s now Hanukkah 2015 + #Readukkah”

  1. I was trying to come up with a clever Hanukkah Haiku…or a new name for one… a Hanukkah Haiku:
    Hanuku or Hainuku…seemed to good to pass up. But alas, I am coming up empty headed-ku.

    Like

  2. One of my old favorites is Hershel and the Hanukkah Goblins, too, Jan. I read it yearly to my older students, much fun. There is a recent book that I loved you might like, out this year: Oskar and the Eight Blessings by Tanya & Richard Simon, illustrated by Mark Siegel. Thank you for all these titles and from others too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the story — wonderful reading and animation. Beautiful colors!! Wish I could see the Northern Lights sometime. I love learning about Jewish traditions (esp. the food ones :)). Happy Hanukkah!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jama, I’m glad you could look at the BookPALS video of Hanukkah in Alaska. I wasn’t sure what to expect
      from the title & then I found it was so much fun. I agree the Northern Lights in person must be
      a shimmering experience like no other. And I know you’ve your clever blog has covered the taste
      treats of Hanukkah scrumptiously. Makes me want to hop over there & take bite, now!

      Like

      • Sweet, Jama!

        I’ve been fortunate to be adopted at times thru the years – child days & continuing these days –
        by loaner Jewish aunts & loaner Jewish sisters. Could be a reason I am so drawn to
        Jewish themes in books.

        Like

    • And we can’t be sure they are good for them, not being their natural food source.
      But that’s what p.b. fantasies are all about – stretching the truth for a smile for the young ones & us.
      You picked up on that great tip for travelers in moose country, Adrian!

      Like

your thoughts? please leave a comment, to pop up after moderator o.k. thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.