Watching felt dry

Watching felt dry

I remember the steep sloped side of that Hunterdon hill of spring-green grass, the mowers at work, ewes and soft babes, bleating, chomping, dark hoofs shuffling slow steps across the small hillside in spring.

Mrs. Schroth would invite my mother in, would tell me I could run up the hill out back, the steep sloped small hill of bleating, chomping ewes and soft babes. Larger up close. Bleating, chomping.

With grass-sprinkled cream faces, they turned to me. I hadn’t begun school yet, didn’t climb over the fence, stood on the low post, gripping the next post at my neck, my chin resting on the post, seeing smelling smiling at woolies working in spring.

I hoped one lamb would kick hooves and run, as I’d seen before. And one did. And another. The mothers didn’t mind, chomping, chomping. Lambs didn’t run toward me. Always away.

Today I’m wooly. Working with wool roving – sheared sheep hairs. Processed, dyed, yet not yarn, a soft lanolin clothing remade from sheep, from animals I’ll never know. I pulled wool ribbons of pale orange, pale yellow, oatmeal, laid the softness down cross ways.

Plopped a small stone in the center. I had lettered on it: Joy. The wool strips wrapped ‘round the smooth hard gray. I plunged this in soaped water. Like my Sicilian-born mother-in-law turns dough into bread, I patted it back and forth from hand to hand.

I watch my felted stone sitting in afternoon sun. It will fly through the sky to a friend four hundred miles away who’s had to relearn walking. And during May I will pick other stones, more wool ribbons, thinking kindly of ewes and babes, bleating, chomping, kicking up heels on Mrs. Schroth’s Hunterdon hill.

*****

Friends, I’m happy to return to #PoetryFriday goodness with a fresh d r a f t poem of this last April Tuesday, for an always-in-the-making memories chapbook.  Via a cosy virtual workshop with an artist who is also a trained art therapist for folks with a similar but not exactly the same health condition/diagnosis [you don’t want mine- kidney cancer!] I learned felting today. AND, a sweet lost memory from child days arrived, bringing me flow.

We can kick up our heels with this week’s line leader , BuffySilverman on the 1st #PoetryFriday in May, the 3rd. [her groovy link below.] See where May days will take us & also, where we’ve been in Poetry Month, April. If you have time to leave a comment & you think it may turn out that you are Anon. it would make me happy if you’ll eave your name within your comment. Appreciations. Thank you creative Buffy, for hosting.

May
3 BUFFY at Buffy Silverman


10 Linda at A Word Edgewise
17 Patricia at Reverie
24 Michelle at MoreArt4All
31 Janice at Salt City Verse

April 2024 #PoetryFriday
5 Irene at Live Your Poem
12. Jone at Jone Rush MacCulloch
19 Heidi at my juicy little universe
26 Ruth at There is no such thing as a God-forsaken town

By:


21 responses to “Watching felt dry”

  1. This is wonderful, JG. I have no skills with my hand but maybe dying wool would be something I could do? Beautiful, rich,colors you’ve created.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello wonderful Han, It’s fabulous to see busy you, here! Appreciations for your visit.
      I think you & your kiddos would have a HOOT trying felting together.
      Watch a couple craft videos first.
      Olive oil soap loosens up the fibers better than kitchen dish soap.
      Water should be as hot as you can stand it.
      It’s a long-term hand to tossing from palm to palm. A slap/pat pat of WET wool so carve out 30-45 minutes, after pulling the sheaths, or ribbons, of wool from your received kits . I would start with a kid that hasit all set up for a crafter. Make sure you LOVE your wool colors & your project. Such as sending a message on a smooth round stone inside the felt.
      We are the same about our hands’ history as uncooperative for embroidery, sewing & a zillion other hand-crafts.
      But, I did this & You can too!
      But you also have other handwork – such as your next novel. Can’t wait for that.
      XO
      Jan

      Like

  2. What a lovely memory and an amazing project. It’s difficult not to be joyful when you are watching sheep. I love wool but have never tried to dye it; I just knit. I’m sure your gift will be healing for your friend!

    Like

  3. I was overwhelmed with a sense of peace the first time I ever felt wooled felt? felted wool? It covered a beautiful bar of handmade soap. I’ve never wanted to use the soap because I love just holding it – the gentlest feeling in my hand. I had a similar sense as I read and lingered over your repeated “steep sloped side” and “bleating, chomping…babes.” Jan, I love that you have re-found this beautiful memory as your fingers linger and work the wool and stone. And I hope you feel that same peace – the sentiment and hope as much the gift being sent away as the felted stone itself.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me too, about the soap!
      This is so silly of me, Patricia, but years & years ago a wonderful trendy friend in the LA area sent me a felted soap & I was flabbergasted. I didn’t know what it was all about & thought perhaps, it was a mistake, as until then, wool was like to me, winter plaid skirts that I would never soap up, ya know? I too, didn’t use it & passed it on. [I hope dear D. isn’t reading this & if so … understands about passalongs…
      I appreciate your lovely words.

      Like

  4. Hello, dear Jan. This is Tabatha. I love picturing little you watching the lambs frolic, your wee chin resting on a fence post. So sweet! Your gift is also sweet, lovingly made. You always share your gifts and affection lavishly and it is much appreciated. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. One set of my grandparents raised sheep, Jan, so with your memory-laden post, then wrapped up with art, I am smiling at the treasures you’ve brought to me, along with everyone, today. I’ve never felted, but I enjoyed how you described the specialness of it, the work, and the joy of making something for someone. It’s quite a wonder what our hands (and hearts) can do. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Linda, this is such a rich background you have. Appreciations for sharing. You’ve no doubt written of your times among or near those amazing creatures. I’m so glad we have yet another memorable connection. xo

      Liked by 1 person

    • hello wonderful Irene & so many appreciationsfor your unending poetry.creative writing support, always. Apologies for posting this late. I had you confused with an Anon. poster. You have accomplished so many handcrafts, so well, I feel your hands would warm to felting. If you ever had the time. Happy days before Mother’s Day xo

      Like

  6. Jan, those are gorgeous colors! What vivid wool and imagery you create! Felting is a wonderful skill – finding joy in wool.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Tracey, who sounds like an experienced fetter.
      I am fascinated with the bilateral stimulation helping the nervous system during the process, as much as with the result. Let’s go forward, felting!

      Like

  7. Gosh, I love this post. I just finished ‘ What You are Looking For Is in the Library’ by Michiko Aoyama. This post reminded me so much of the librarian…the gift of the craft and the gift of the crafted item. It’s just wonderful that you are felting something for someone special. There’s magic in that. I know there is! xo

    Like

  8. What a beautiful memory tied to the work of your hands in the felting class!

    I love the symbolism of wrapping hard things with soft — the rock at the center of the felt which was patted with love and memories by your hands to give to another who is in an equally/more challenging time of life.

    Keep those memories flowing, keep the words flowing, keep the art flowing, keep your beautiful spirit flowing!

    –Mary Lee

    Liked by 1 person

your thoughts? please leave a comment, to pop up after moderator o.k. thank you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.