Joy Month

Joy Month

(If you seek Poetry Friday links – & if you’ve landed here, I’m hopeful you’ll want too, please visit with Laura.)

This may be an only post in my busy, 2nd-favorite month of the year.
I am thankful for so much, including your visits &
comments here through the year.

img_5948

Before a light flight
by J.G. Annino

A silk garland
small patches
yellow, orange, black, white
lifting
falling,
a fluttering
shimmer
of poured sunshine.

c.2016JanGodownAnnino

Every year near here butterflies arrive to gorge on fuel.
Then they lift up to the sky for fall migration over the
gaping wide Gulf of Mexico.

To witness this feeding, as my husband & I did again recently,
always feels like a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

c.2016JanGodownAnnino

c.2016JanGodownAnnino


Because this seasonal sight is so close to Thanksgiving,
it always helps me imagine the even more abundant sights of Nature,
that once were here & everywhere in this
Hemisphere as experienced by Native Americans/American Indians
hundreds of years ago.

In the upcoming holiday of Thanksgiving,
depictions of the Native families who farmed, fished, hunted
and lived in villages or on the move,
people who made art and clothing,
medicine and toys,
can be shared in well-meaning
but uninformed Thanksgiving ways.

Because I waited for years for someone in the
Seminole Tribe of Florida to write a book for children
about the astounding matriarch leader, Betty Mae Tiger Jumper,
before doing so myself, I am asked about resources
for families, schools, community youth groups & libraries.
If you have a similar interest here are starting places:

American Indians in Children’s Literature

OYATE

National Museum of the American Indian

I also find these books to be helpful.
Any title by Joseph Bruchac

FATTY LEGS by Christy Jordan-Fenton & Margaret Pokiak-Fentonwith artwork from Liz Amini-holmes True story of an 8-year-old child.

A NATIVE AMERICAN THOUGHT OF IT by Rocky Landon with illustrations by David MacDonald

DO ALL INDIANS LIVE IN TIPIS? Questions & Answers from the National Museum of the American Indian
ENCOUNTER by Jane Yolen, illustrations by David Shannon

c.2016JanGodownAnnino

c.2016JanGodownAnnino


Happy Native American Heritage Month/November
Happy Thanksgiving/November
Happy National Novel Writing Month/November

21 thoughts on “Joy Month

    • This is such a great comment, Brenda, because for years I’ve imagined travel to the famous refuge in Mexico, where so many monarchs overwinter in what is a glimmering blanket on trees. But guess what – this is more wonderful, here at hand. And so what I mean is, I’m guessing where you live there is some seasonal tug that I wish I could see. I’m unsure (other than more North, everything is North of Florida!) there are perhaps trees I can’t visit in the autumn or animals whose tracks I will never cross. I’d love to know that, about your area…

      Liked by 1 person

  1. ‘Gorge’ is an unexpected word for so dainty a butterfly – but with such a long flight, they would need to gorge on fuel. What a wondrous event to witness. Once in a lifetime, indeed – even if you’re blessed to catch it twice. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Each year I anticipate it & then I discover that I’ve forgotten the intensity of my response to being so close to this. I am all wet eyes & an unwillingness to leave. My husband has to take a second walk & go look at the people fishing, because I stay so long on the scene.

      Like

  2. I love that “poured sunshine”, Jan. We have been so warm here I’ve seen butterflies still “gorging” before the cold. You are lucky to see that grouping which we don’t have. As for Thanksgiving, I just wrote Tuesday about November, and the added conversations we had in my class about Native Americans and their own thoughts. You might enjoy this article (scroll down to Intro for Teachers) that we read and discussed: http://www.manataka.org/page269.html#More%20About%20Thanksgiving…” Thanks for your links too. I have and love Encounter!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Linda, Hello again & appreciations for all these important connections we share & your kind words. I know I will learn from this link. Thank you so much for posting it. Enjoy those “fluttering flowers,” which is what Robert Frost called butterflies, as long as you can. Wonderful Weekend!

      Like

  3. Thank you for sharing these great resources, as well as a fascinating glimpse into the natural world in your area – one of the reasons I love reading blogs so much is that it allows me to travel around the world and experience little moments in someone else’s life and explore their area!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the idea of a Monarch’s Thanksgiving….that poured sunshine in the sunshine state. Beautiful warm words to hold onto in our coming cold days. Thank you for the links! My Library Partner did an extensive lesson with 6th graders lately and it was interesting to watch and sometimes help her find verified resources that could be counted on. I was happy to rec some of those you’ve shared already. Hugs to you! Love seeing you here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi dear Linda! I’m thankful that your students enjoy a schoolLibrary that is headed by someone such as you, so conscious of all tricky issues. And wishes to you for more sky gold in this transitional month that brings our wool sweaters out of the top close shelf. Happy Weekend!

      Like

your thoughts?

