Highlights of Working at Writer’s Wonderland – 1

Highlights of Working at a Writer’s Wonderland – The Tour
by Jan Annino

I write this blog article as a coping mechanism
to soothe withdrawal, from leaving
a Writer’s Wonderland.

Last month I attended my first Highlights Foundation
Workshop for Children’s and Illustrators. A two-word
writing results summary is – terrific progress.
I hope the days there aren’t my last visit to the Highlights
nirvana for writers, editors, and illustrators.

Here today, from the recent Highlights Foundation
Workshop for writers of novels-in-verse, are my High Fives
about The Tour. Tomorrow’s blog article is about The Workshop.

The Tour
My High Five Favorites at the Office – The Tour

images-2
Highlights logo is cheerily emblazoned on scattered carpets.

images-1
A giant skull sits in the editor-in-chief’s office (ask about it on
tour.)
images-2
Magazine editors work in an historic downtown former mayor’s home,
a building accented with high ceilings, big, built-in
bookcases, and tall windows.
images-3

Editor name plates are old Scrabble tile holders that display the
wood letters spelling first names. (Hello Joelle, Channing & everyone!)
images-4
All on the magazine staff answer mail from children; every piece of
child mail is answered.

Finally, my heart also melted when I saw that books created by
book friends (Lee Bennett Hopkins, Lisa Desimini, Irene Latham)
are so handy for reference.

Okay, so I gave you one more – that makes six. The Highlights
folks like to overdeliver and I feel we all carried that spirit
away with us.

I hope you can visit this blog again; tomorrow I expect to post High Five Favorites from the Workshop – The Work.

(printablenumbers.org a resource for educators, is much appreciated
for today’s numbers.)

8 thoughts on “Highlights of Working at Writer’s Wonderland – 1

  1. Thank you, Jan! I didn’t stay for the Tour and now I’m wishing I had. Definitely next time. I’m totally intrigued by the skull in the editor’s office! It was so wonderful getting to know you at the Workshop. And I understand what you mean about withdrawal.

    Like

    • Appreciations for these kind words, Joanne.
      It was fun to meet you & share our likes.
      So, what is the antidote to this workshop withdrawsl?
      I think it’s putting into action everything I learned.

      But, without chipmunks & some of the other specialness
      the post tomorrow mentions.

      Like

  2. Sounds like a fun and inspiring place to work. I’m intrigued by the skull! I love that they respond to every piece of child mail, though I’m not surprised. 🙂 Thanks for the peek, Jan– looking forward to hearing about your workshop!

    Like

your thoughts?

