Reading by firefly light

Reading by firefly light

The lights of my childhood summers were sunset light, full moon light,

shore cottage porch light and then after we moved to Florida, phosphorescent

light.

You may remember the glow of other summer lights- campfire light,

lantern light…

Because we are enjoying recurring deluges of rain this summer – welcome by

Paolo & me as we reap extra time & dimes, not watering our basil & such – I do miss

seeing the flicker of fire flies. So I mind-conjure fire fly light as a reading lumens.

My titles listed here, all done or recently begun, are all recommended.

Two beautiful picture books in a series, by teacher & writer Kate Messner, with under the sea artwork from Andy Rash, Sea Monster and the Bossy Fish, and,

Sea Monster’s First Day.

A non-fiction photo-illustrated historical look at Florida in  tough times, Florida

in the Great Depression, by Nick Wynne and Joeseph Kentsch.

J.K. Rowling’s secret not kept: The Cuckoo’s Calling, which I’ve just begun & am

page-turning, page-turning.

Summer of the Dragon, a non-fiction story and guide to a little-known Florida garden and how it grew big, by Don Goodman. And another Florida non-fiction guide by prolific author, Doug Alderson, The Great Florida Seminole Trail.

Heart of Palm evokes an undeveloped northeast Florida intracoastal zone, which I last loved reading about in Connie May Fowler’s first novel, River of Hidden Dreams, which meanders into an unspoiled jungle, after beginning in South Florida. The new newcomer, by first-time novelist Laura Lee Smith, is heart-wrenching & bound to launch her literary light. I would enjoy seeing Fowler interview Smith.

Artifact by Gigi Pandian, which, like the Rowling novel, is a mystery I’ve just begun. I find that my fingers, in cooperation with my avid eyes, are page-turning, page-turning

Diane Ackerman’s The Zookeeper’s Wife, a non-fiction visit with the extraordinary Zabinski Family. They worked with animals by profession and saved at least 300 people in Warsaw through their compassionate cunning, during the torture and attempt to annihilate Jews at the time of The Holocaust.

A Stopover in Venice, an art-intrigue novel by Kathryn Walker, which exquisitely extended to me the bright atmosphere of a stopover with Paolo in the history-whispering, water-dunked, jigsaw puzzle jewel box city. (I thank my college student daughter for introducing me to these last two titles.)

The Key West food critic series placed, appetizingly on my summer menu, Topped Chef, by Lucy Burdette, who provides a savory who-done-it, with recipes, too.

And Volume 4 of the story collection, knowonder! for families, drew me in with the hamster cover & kept me reading for the tale I know best, which follows a frequent flier, Lucinda, in  “The Tooth Fairy and The Sandman,” a fun read from Debra Katz.

your thoughts?

